Mono No Aware

The Japanese expression
Mono no aware describes a sensibility and an appreciation of the transience and impermanence of life.
This sensibility allows for cherishing both the beauty and fragility of the temporary, as well as the gentle melancholy of the ephemeral.
Hanami – the admiration and appreciation of the sakura (cherry blossoms) while being aware of their short impermanence - is an example.
For Stef Van Alsenoy this
Mono no aware is very present in clouds - in how they form, evolve and eventually dissipate into nothingness

Works from the
Mono No Aware collection were on display at the Concertgebouw in Bruges - from November 28th 2018 until February 20th 2019

Stacks Image 71984

‘Undulatus Asperatus’
Framed large format prints, 150 cm x 82 cm

Stacks Image 71951

‘Mono No Aware I’ - excerpt
Projection with surround soundscape.

Stacks Image 72036

‘Mono No Aware II’ - excerpt
Projection with surround soundscape.

The Japanese concept of Ma can roughly be translated as ‘the space in between’, ‘interval’ or ’gap’ in time or space.
It is the silence between notes that makes the music, the pause in a conversation that conveys feeling and meaning.
It is the dynamic balance between action and inaction, between movement and rest, between object and empty space.
In Western music and arts,
minimalism would probably be its closest counterpart.

Photographs below are part of the Stef Van Alsenoy
Ma collection

Stacks Image 71998

‘Cabin Fever’

part of the Ma collection

Stacks Image 72019

‘Hokkaido Dakekanba’

part of the Ma collection

Seven Angels

Seven Angels was a concert series in November 2019 in Lier, Leuven and at the Basilica Koekelberg,
featuring the Vlaams Radiokoor and Brussels Philharmonic Soloists, and conducted by James MacMillan.
The concerts featured music by James MacMillan (Miserere, Seven Angels) and Allegri (Miserere).
I wish to thank them all for the wonderful opportunity to surround the concerts with surround soundscapes and cloudscape visuals.

Stacks Image 72071

Seven Angels Concert Series